Darwin would be proud.

18 05 2009

In no way am I an advocate for evolution (yea creation!), but the English Premier League uses such a perfect system of natural selection it would make C.S. Lewis blush.  That system, my friends, is relegation.  For those of you who may be unfamiliar with this process, also known as American sports fans, it is goes as such.

“In many sports leagues around the world (with U.S./Canadian and Australian professional leagues being the most notable exceptions), promotion and relegation is a process that takes place at the end of each season in which teams are transferred between divisions. The best-ranked teams in each division are promoted to the next-highest division, and at the same time the worst-ranked teams in the higher division are relegated (or demoted) to the lower division. This process may continue down through several levels, with teams being exchanged between levels 1 and 2, levels 2 and 3, levels 3 and 4, and so on.”

This beautiful process of assuring only the strong survive has come down to match day 38, the final match of the season.  This season the last day holds so much for so many.  This Saturday it’s go time.  Who will survive the drop?  Middlesbrough, Newcastle, Hull City, or Sunderland? I sure hope it’s the Toons.

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 05 2009
Shawn

HOW DARE YOU! If I didn’t need Man U to win this week, I’d say, “I hope you lose”. But I can’t. So I digress– Magpies with not be relegated.

19 05 2009
Sean

Looks like I have two friends this week that I may not have next week. How can I take advantage of this…

Leave a Reply

