Obsess much?

29 05 2009

kingofkong

My good friend Jacob recommeded this movie to me.  King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters is a documentary film that follows Steve Wiebe as he tries to take the world high score for the arcade game Donkey Kong from reigning champion Billy Mitchell.  Don’t worry this was my first time hearing these names too.

As I sat down to take in this film I was quickly taken through the history of the arcade gaming industry and its leading cast of characters.  Each new person I was introduced to caused me to giggle like I was back in 7th grade Health class and turned the textbook to the picture of the female anatomy.  However, the more I watched the quieter I got.  I was slowly being drawn into the story of Steve Wiebe and his quest.  Soon I found myself rooting for Steve as I watched him play Donkey Kong on an arcade machine in his own garage.  Setting the high score became an obsession, and I was witness to his journey.

I won’t ruin the ending for you (I also now recommend this film), but as I sat there contemplating what it must be like to be such a nerd, it suddenly all made sense.  Replace Donkey Kong with football, and it all makes sense.  Every last minute he spent in front of that machine suddenly made sense.  Now we have a blog, and it makes sense.

Actions

Information

4 responses

29 05 2009
number17cherrytreelane

That movie was crazy ridiculous. I want to invite Mitchell to every party I have. Him and his Statue of Liberty tie.

1 06 2009
cavachez

I am watching it right now. Steve Wiebe will be at the LA convention center this weekend. He going to try to beat the current record.

10 06 2009
grasshopper

how could you not root for Steve Wiebe to take down Billy Mitchell…

11 06 2009
Sean

I agree, I actually would root for anyone to take down Billy Mitchell.

Leave a Reply

