It’s Official: Manchester United sign Michael Owen from Newcastle.

3 07 2009

owen-swe-500

Michael Owen has passed his medical today and has been confirm as the newest signing for the Red Devils.  The great experiment has begun again, and we shall see if the gamble will pay off.  Signed to a 2 year contract on a free transfer seems like too good of a deal to pass up.  The contract appears to be almost entirely incentive based resting on the amount of minutes played and the number of goals scored.  Much like the contract I signed with my parents when I was playing recreational soccer at 6 years old, Owen will be playing for his lively-hood. Hey, it worked for me. I once tallied 9 goals in one game.

Honestly, how could Sir Alex pass up a chance to sign a proven goal scorer for next to nothing?  And how could Owen resist?  Once his Newcastle contract expired his only suitors appeared to be Hull, Stoke, and some team in Greece.  Now he has a chance to play Champions League football.  I think he would have signed a contract with United for a frosty pint.

Owen stated, “I had just begun to talk to other Clubs when out of the blue Sir Alex phoned me on Wednesday afternoon, invited me to have breakfast with him next morning during which he told me that he wanted to sign me. I agreed without a moment’s thought.  This is a fantastic opportunity for me and I intend to seize it with both hands.”

I know the feelings among the Stretford End are a little mixed, and I admit I am straddling the fence.  My faith lies with Sir Alex, who sees the potential.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

