iPhone burns hole in leg. Manchester United 1 Besiktas 0.

16 09 2009

index_iphones20090625

I love Champions League football.  And ever since I watched the movie about the 50 year anniversary of the competition, and saw the history behind the trophy, I was hooked.  I love everything that it represents and I understand why so many players consider it to such a high honor to win.  The only thing I don’t like about it is the fact that the games start at 12PM out here on the European football desert known as the West Coast.

So I did what I normally do when I cannot duck out of work and head to any place that has ESPN (I have even gone to the gym to watch matches).  I set up the gamecast on my iPhone, and set it on my leg.  For those of you who do not have an iPhone, it really is the perfect device for this, and it also reaches temperatures upwards of blazing hot when you are constantly using the processor.  When I am watching a game via a gamecast I don’t trust the world of “instant updating” or “no need to refresh this page” so I constant refresh the page on my own in hopes that I am as close to watching it live as possible.

And there I was in a meeting, leg on fire, constantly looking down at my lap.  I’m sure I looked silly, but I didn’t care.  I needed to read every update coming from the gamecast commentator (how do I get that job?).  When I saw “GOAL Scholes!” I sat there with the biggest smile on my face.  I’m smart enough not to yell out or fist pump, but I couldn’t contain my glee.

Obviously I can’t give too much commentary on the match since I was watching it through, what seems like, a series of text messages, but the match highlights were underwhelming anyway.  The main thing is that United got 3 points on the road and begun the trip to our third consecutive final with a victory.

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 09 2009
Andy

Wait, you can watch football on the ipone?!! I wrote my article before reading yours… I thought we could just get the crappy updates!!!! Tell a brotha how?!!!

22 09 2009
Sean

I used the term “watched” liberally. It is the crappy updates still. I take what I can get. The fastest I have found is through ESPNSoccernet. Go America.

Leave a Reply

