Good News, Bad News.

19 02 2010

During Manchester United’s weekend off, also known as the fifth round of the FA Cup, I had a chance to re-watch the match versus Arsenal one more glorious time.  As I watched the replay of the second goal, I focused in on the determination that is Wayne Rooney.  If you haven’t had a chance to witness this goal, it is one of the best I have seen.  Not because of the finish, but because of the build up to the goal.

As I watched Wazza initiate the break and then gallop 80 yards to finish off the play I was struck with a severe case of good news, bad news.  Rooney is coming into his own.  He is becoming a world class player.  This is not just my opinion, but the opinion of his manager, someone who has seen his fair share of footballing stars.  And he proved his point by netting two midweek against AC Milan at the San Siro, proving he is not just a talent on English soil.  That is the good news.

What could possibly be the bad news about this you ask?  As much as I hate to admit it, Rooney is shouldering the hopes and dreams of all United supporters for this campaign.  Now his shoulders are broad, and his determination may be enough to see us through, but we are one injury away from disaster.  It showed when he came up limping against Hull and all of Old Trafford fell silent as if mourning the loss of a football legend.  Once he began running again were we able to breath.

That is the bad news.  But I’ll take the good with the bad, I’ll take them both, because there I have the facts of life.

Actions

Information

One response

19 02 2010
Mark

Very true Sean. But what a player to have carrying the weight. He really is incredible.

Leave a Reply

